Question for the group: I built a DIY Bluetooth speaker for my son, and right now it s powered by...

G+_Shooter_FPV (Shooter_FP

Question for the group: I built a DIY Bluetooth speaker for my son, and right now it’s powered by a 12v/5A power cord like you’d use for a laptop. I’d like to add a battery to it so he can take it out with him.

Being I’m a drone builder, I have a few handful of LiPo batteries hanging around. Could I wire up something where a 14.8V LiPo runs to a voltage regulator and drops the power to 12V? If it’s a big project i don’t need the battery to charge while plugged in, but it would be easier.

As you can see by the video, it’s actually a simple project. I have it working, but I get crazy hum from the Bluetooth module that mounts on top. I ordered a new one thinking the current one is defective somehow.

So... thoughts on the battery???

Thanks everyone!!!

Assuming the 12V power input already regulates the voltage down to 5V or 3.3V to power the system, then it's likely the 12V input will work with a wide input range e.g. 16V to 9V. Check the specs for the power input to see if it can handle the slightly higher voltage directly and keep working down to the minimum from the battery.

Paul Hutchinson The power supply I use is a 12V/5A power supply that you’d use for a laptop or such. It has a brick, with a barrel connector that plug into a power socket. It gives 12V to the amp that everything is plugged into. So was hoping I could use a battery with 12V, or a higher voltage battery with a regulator that brings power down to 12V before it hits the amp.

I’m not too hip on where I want to go, so I hope I make sense... ?

OK I'm a bit confused, you said you built a DIY Bluetooth speaker but now it seems you bought a Bluetooth speaker and perhaps added a DIY housing?