? I 've got a computer to which I would like to make it run Linux on a new HD; at the same time ...

G+_Giligain I.

? I've got a computer to which I would like to make it run Linux on a new HD; at the same time upgrade the memory some. I've never done this conversion before, so I anticipate usual problems, like working on existing household plumbing pipes. So, I'm seeking some useful guidance to foresee problems before I order the extra hardware, or needed adapters for SSD conversion.

? this is the computer: never opened or started up yet

Dell Inspiron 20 3059 (specs)

https://www.kahlon.com/rm688871_Dell_Inspiron_20_(3059).html

https://m.ncix.com/products/specifications/139435

Planned Purchase

ORICO SuperSpeed USB 3.0 to SATA Hard Drive Docking Station for 2.5'' & 3.5'' HDD, SSD [support 8TB]-Black (6619US3)

$20

https://m.newegg.com/products/9SIA1DS3N87773

Memory

I'm not sure how the (2) slots are used for memory or adding memory. I'm assuming 2gb cards in each slot = 4gb standard default given memory. If this is so then the upgrade memory to 8gb would require (2) 4gb cards. Or can you mix match sizes? If only (1) 4gb card is currently in the 'puter, then can I just get a 2nd 4gb card to add in other slot? Maybe these slots are empty to begin with.

Hard Drive

I'm thinking of using SSD HD 500gb size for installing Linux. Not sure if one is obviously better choice than the other. Any feedback on making the conversion? If this isn't easy then installing a new SATA HD 1tb size will be my 2nd route to go with.

The Plan

Take the existing Wndows 10 HD out of the 'puter and replace with the new HD which will be used for Linux. The Wibdows 10 HD can then be used with the Planned Purchase: external HD thru USB docking station.

Adding memory is just a bonus for already being inside the 'puter, and not required if it's not too costly.